Skip to main content
Find a provider
Call now

Palliative care

Palliative care is specialized medical care for people with serious or chronic illness. The focus in palliative care is the anticipation, prevention, and treatment of the symptoms and stressors of illness - whatever the diagnosis. It does not replace your primary care. Palliative care works as an extra layer of support to the treatments you're already receiving. The goal is to help both patient and family experience and improved quality of life.

Request More Information

A team approach to patient-centered care

Your team of specialists

Palliative care is provided by a team of specialists that may include:

  • Palliative care nurses
  • Social workers
  • Spiritual caregivers
  • Pharmacist

The Crossing Rivers Health Palliative Care team of specialists thrives to provide:

  • Relief or lessening of symptoms.
  • Answers to questions you or your family may have related to illness and treatment plans.
  • Coordination of medical care. We work with your existing healthcare team, so there is no need to change providers.
  • Open discussions about future treatment choices and management of illness and symptoms.
  • Coordination of additional home services and connections to community resources.
  • Access to experts in psychology, social services, spiritual care, occupational therapy, physical therapy, nutrition, and many more.

Insurance coverage

Palliative care services are covered by:

  • Private insurances
  • Medicare
  • Medicaid

How is palliative care different from hospice care?

  • Palliative care is available to you at any time during your illness.
  • You can receive palliative care at the same time you receive curative and other medical treatments.
  • You don't have to be a hospice patient or at the end-of-life to receive palliative care.
Service area

Our service area includes Southwest Wisconsin communities throughout Crawford County, along with portions of Grant, Vernon and Richland counties in Wisconsin. We also service portions of northeast Iowa, including Clayton and Allamakee counties.

Back to top